Clayton Doley’s Bayou Billabong...

Doley's current project… The Bayou Billabong band is a 10 piece powerhouse of mighty funk horns, soul vocals, infectious grooves and above all, great songs. Live they play a ‘Best Of’ as it were of songs from Clayton’s five albums of original works. As well a some new and hopefuly soon to be hits.

The all star band consists mainly of Matt Morrison and Drums, Jan Bangma on Bass, Illya Szwec on Guitar, James Greening on Trombone, Matt Keegan on Tenor Sax, Todd Hardy on Trumpet, Steve Fitzmaurice on Baritone Sax, Tina Harrod and Evelyn Duprai on Vocals.

The album Bayou Billabong was recorded in both New Orleans, Louisiana and Sydney, Australia and features past and present members of Jon Cleary's band, The Absolute Monster Gents as the rhythm section.

It also features the amazing marching band brass of The Treme Funktet with members of Galactic and Trombone Shorty's Orleans Avenue.

The sensational vocal talents of Mahalia Barnes, Jade MacRae and Juanita Tippins feature heavily throughout and also appearing is virtuoso Didgeridoo player Ganga Giri and the amazing lap slide guitar mastery of Harry Manx.

All the songs are Clayton's original compositions inspired by the great New Orleans piano masters and feature not only Doley's amazing piano and Hammond skills but his quirky lyrics and song artistry captures the essence of the New Orleans tradition while fusing contemporary Australiana and Americana.

Right Kind Of Loving

Here is some footage from a recent show.

Lose It

Here is a sneak peak into the Bayou Billabong recording session in New Orleans, Louisiana, with the Monster Gents. Big D on guitar, Eddie Christmas on drums and Cornell Williams on Bass.